True identity

I was thinking about how everyone tells me that I’m miserable and that I don’t really know what I want and that I’m not happy. but it occurred to me that they really don’t know what they’re talking about. I’m on a journey, and this journey is allowing me to find what makes me happy. Before, I was all caught up and locked inside of a box and I would complain and everyone told me to do what makes me happy but it’s a process and people couldn’t understand why wasn’t happy with what I had. but it wasn’t for me and what I found was that I really just needed to let go of everything that I’ve been doing, all the things that don’t make me happy I need to let go of. and now people are complaining because I’m not doing what they want me to do and I’m not who they thought I always was; except the person I was, was locked inside of a box and I’m much happier being free from the everyday habits that I picked up while I was inside of that box. I still don’t know what I want and I still don’t know what makes me happy but at least I know what I don’t like and what I don’t want. It just amazes me how people expect you to be a certain way because of the way that you grew up, even if that isn’t who you really are. They tell you to do what makes you happy but then they want you to be the you that they envisioned. Nobody knows me better than I know myself, and it really bugs me when people pretend they do or they really believe that they do and they don’t. Only I know myself and nobody else can find or tell me what makes me happy. The things that I’m into, what i like, and what I don’t like- that’s what makes me who I am. And when somebody tells me that something “just doesn’t seem like your style, that’s not really you” well it is me because I like it and I’m not going to be their version of myself because that’s not who I am. There is only one true version of myself and that is the one that I’ve created. Whether you or anybody else can see that, whether or not you like that version, it doesn’t matter if you do or you don’t, because I’m going to be that person anyway.

3 thoughts on “True identity

    • Yes exactly! I find so many interesting aspects with the relationships I have and with the people that I communicate with regularly. The way I’m treated and how others think of me. I like the idea of sharing this to see how others relate to the same type of situation. The whole concept of judging each other and dealing with that judgement is aggravating but it is self-revealing at the same time. Thanks so much for reading, hope to read your comments again! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

