Writerly Life

Image

 

Books and Writing! The one thing people tend to dislike the most. However, being read to and writing for nothing my whole life has seemed to cause a love affair.

Books:
Madeline, 10,000 times. Sarah Dessen will always be amazing. Ayn Rand’s writings are a muse of mine. And I’m perpetually a teenager by reading teen novels. I like a good book no matter where they’re from.

Writing:
Then there’s writing. I started writing song lyrics when I was 5, granted they weren’t anything presentable but it was a start. It got my foot in the door of poetry.

Writing short stories and essays has always been a strong point for me, I never did it just to write when I was younger, I did it for fun. Just now am I taking it on as a serious potential career.

It feels good to write. I’m an introvert, so it’s almost like having a conversation with somebody, it’s fun.

In the past I wouldn’t show anybody anything, but I realize now that your work is only as good as everyone else thinks it to be.

Poetry is easiest for me, but I’d rather take the challenge and write fiction.

I write for myself but I also have aspirations of something more. I’ve been published already in a book of collective poetry, but I’d like to write novels. I’d like to attend school for creative writing. It’d be amazing!

Why do I write? Well that’s a question anyone can answer. I like it. Why do I like it? Well why do you like candy, why do you like cake? Because it tastes good.

What keeps me writing? Well I don’t know. Like I said I like it. I have ideas that I believe are worth sharing, so I share them.

I’m in school for music. That’s another profession that can be tricky. Basically, the main rule I go about for anything I pursue is, “be humble. Talent is god-given, fame is man-given.” But most of all, “do it for yourself before you do it for anyone else.”

http://wp-cron.com/2014/03/24/writing-challenge-writerly-reflections/
http://missdiaries.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/writing-challenge-why-do-i-write/
http://awlscribe.wordpress.com/2014/03/25/writing-challenge-writerly-reflections/
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/24/writing-challenge-reflections/

21 thoughts on “Writerly Life

  1. Pingback: Never at a Loss for Words | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman

  2. Pingback: Origin Story: Why I Write | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  3. Pingback: Why I Write | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  4. Pingback: Writing Challenge: Writerly Reflections | siobhanmcnamara

  5. Pingback: Write What You Know | 365 Days of Thank You

  6. Pingback: Writerly Reflections | Alexia Jones

  7. Pingback: DP: Writing challenge – Writing | The Wandering Poet

  8. Pingback: “The miseducation of Nicholas Christian: Origin Story” | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  9. Pingback: I write because I MUST: Weekly Writing Challenge | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  10. Pingback: The 16th of December 1953 – Cornish, New Hampshire | Forgotten Correspondence

  11. Pingback: That Face in the Mirror | Views Splash!

  12. Pingback: writing off the wall | litadoolan

  13. Pingback: Letters from the Silence – 28th March, 2014 | Wired With Words

  14. Pingback: Strange Tales of Living Windows, Goggle Soup and… Criminal Penguins? | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

