Courteous Living-what not to do…

20140302-123923.jpg

I have a lot of pet peeves, but one of the big ones is when people touch what isn’t theirs to touch.

For example, today I did my laundry. When I came to get my clothes out of the dryer, I found them lying in a basket filled with everyone else’s unclaimed clothing. Thankfully all of it was on the top so I didn’t have to do any digging, but it’s rude to touch others clothing, because you’re in such a hurry to use the drying machine. Sure there are circumstances, but these are college kids we’re talking about and in my experience, it’s just those who don’t care.

Needless to say I lost a good sock and I really wouldn’t have minded the whole thing if the sock wasn’t missing. You see though, it isn’t about the missing sock, it’s about an uncourteous person only caring about their own needs, handling another’s property for their own benefit, and in turn causing me to lose part of that property.

Yes, it’s just a sock. But what if it was something bigger than a sock, something more important?

PSA: If you live with other people, please do not touch other’s belongings. It is rude, uncourteous, and I’m pretty sure you wouldn’t like someone you don’t know handling your laundry (among other things).. That includes undergarments by the way.

20140302-124028.jpg

Leave a Reply

