The Daily Opinion-Opinion vs. Fact

It’s hard to say whether I base my opinion off of opinions or facts. I try to be well educated on a topic before I make any conclusions, but let’s face it, we often base our opinions off of how we feel about something. And maybe once we learn more about it, our opinion will change because we feel differently about it.

Then we often get our news from talk shows and talk shows are generally opinionated in themselves, so we’re only getting one half of the story. I like to hear both sides before I really decide what I think is right. I don’t think there is any news that isn’t biased. And like social situations, it’s better to stay neutral until you have a decent argument against or for a certain topic.
My biggest pet peeve though is when people are so opinionated that they haven’t even thought through their argument or the argument itself is, “well this is what that person said”……….. or when your opinion is wrong because they have to be right and there is is no argument at all. Or when people try to sound educated about the topic when they just repeat the same idea over and over again in a different light.  I’ve found most people to be like that.
But I’ll be honest. When it comes to social complexes I will always base my opinion off of what I see and what I know. When it comes to politics, I won’t ever make a decision until I’ve properly read up on the topic.
Remember, opinions are basically just strong feelings.
9 thoughts on “The Daily Opinion-Opinion vs. Fact

  1. Reblogged this on HarsH ReaLiTy and commented:
    This is a great example as to why I do The Daily Opinion and my open forums for self-promotion. I hope she doesn’t mind the reblog and the visits. -OM
    Note: Comments disabled in this thread, please comment on her blog. Thanks!

    Like

  2. I have always thought that my opinion was usually based on facts. Then I thought, “what if my opinion is wrong, what would I think the facts were then?”

    In my opinion I need to do more research. I’m thinking the thoughts I have of my opinion, could be thought of as
    being opinionated.

    Like

  3. I feel like people need to be more concerned with being informed rather than just simply having an opinion. That’s really all we can ask of anyone is to have a well-informed opinion based on honest, unbiased research regarding the topic at hand. But one shouldn’t confuse a well-informed opinion with fact either. If that makes sense haha. Great post.

    Like

  4. Having read this I thought it was really informative.
    I appreciate you spending some time and effort to put this information together.
    I once again find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and
    commenting. But so what, it was still worth it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

